freaking sweet tea.

For the LIFE of me I am having a hard time writing for yall.  Or really, its more about writing for my self.  Let me assure you there are plenty of things a-happening.  Really.  Like LIFE is happening and its sweet, precious, and really good right now.

Been contemplating a revelation pointed out to me a few weeks ago.  I complain all the time about not being where I *THINK* I should be.  Not in a job that I love.  Not in the house I should be and sometimes it feels like I am wearing a life that is just not that comfortable.  Is that strange??  Hell yes it is.  REALLY strange!  But what was pointed out to me was totally incredible:

Life is NOT about you, Ruth (obviously, as I desperately try and die to myself daily and inevitably fail without the grace of God).  It is about other people.  And sometimes you just are in a holding pattern because the pieces to your puzzle are just not quite ready.  And God is still working on things with THEM so that your life is the design he intended.

I can’t pray for patience any more 😉  I just think that I might fall apart if I have to wait again.

So instead.

I will tell you a story about Sweet Tea.

Sweet tea isn’t one of those things you just “fall into”.  Its a taste that is acquired, but somehow really represents the south.  Right?  I mean, isn’t that what people think of when you cross the Mason-Dixon line?  Yes.  Let’s just go with that.

So….back in 2001, I went on a Summer Beach Project in North Myrtle Beach, SC.  Long story short is that you have to get a job for the summer while you learn to witness to people on the beach, living together, and loving the Lord.  Wellllllllllll I have ALWAYS been one to get up early.  So we had like MAYBE two choices for jobs:  6a-2p or like a 8-6p shift.  And those of yall who know me know that I like the early shift.  Always.  SO I worked at McDonald’s.  In that summer I learned a LOT about myself, about my rebellious spirit, created some freaking ridiculously long-lasting friendships and ate 2 out of three meals at McDonald’s.  And Learned To LOVE Sweet Tea.  Came back to Tri-Delta’s Sorority Rush and to a bunch of wide-eyed friends who never commented but I am SURE noticed that I went from a normal size to a size 12-14 over the course of 2+ months.  Needless to say, I don’t cherrish those pictures very much!

BUT I LIVED HERE ——–>

Where was I?  Oh yeah.  Sweet Tea.  So I cut out the sweet tea.  And changed to unsweetened with two lemons.  And over the course of the last 10 years, have learned to LOVE IT.  Fast-Foward to the last 6 months.  And here is where I get irritated.  There is a new Chick-Fil-A down close to where I work, and there is probably NOTHING I like better to drink than unsweet tea in the summer.  That is besides COLD Sauve Blanc.  BUT normally that is frowned upon when you work during the day.  Go Figure.

So this ONE LADY at CFA is TOTALLY insistant that she NOT give me Unsweet tea.  I swear it is like 5 times in a row, and I am to the point that I will allow someone else to “cut” just so this lady can’t take my order, which usually is “Chicken and Fruit Salad, hold the cheese, extra sunflower seeds.  Large water with two lemons and a Large UNSWEET, NOT SWEET, Tea with Two Lemons.)  and yes I say all of that.  And yes I have her repeat it back to me.  And then YES I take a sip of that “unsweetened tea” and I want to just die in a pile.  Because it is sweet.  And I just cannot explain to you “sweet” people how much that hurts my feelings.

So all this to say I swear the cashier lady at Chick-Fil-A in 5-points is out to kill me.  NOT with kindness.  With sugar.  And she just might yet!

 

 

Leave a Reply

