Eatings this week

MAN I have made some EXTREMELY good foods this weekend…..

Fennel and Carrot Salad

(I really just winged this salad)

              • 6 Large Carrots or 8 oz Baby Carrots

              • 1 Fennel Bulb

              • 1/4 C. Olive Oil

              • `1/2 C. Lemon Juice

              • 1 Tbsp Garlic

              • Salt and Pepper

The beauty of this recipe is that you can play around with the flavors, the spices, etc.  Adding fresh parsley might be nices!

Combine all the ingredients except for the Carrots and Fennel to make your dressing.  Let it sit for 15-20 minutes to let the flavors fuse.

In your food processor (or box grater, if you insist on also grating your fingers!) grate the carrots and fennel.

Combine and begin enjoying!  Since it was so pretty out on Saturday, this was the perfect compliment to a warm day.

  • Pork Pesto based on this recipe and changed ONLY based on what I had in the house (Couldn’t bear to go to Publix a THIRD time over the weekend!)  So Pork instead of Chicken, Pecans instead of Walnuts, Dried Basil instead of Fresh.  And I didn’t have asparagus.  BUT this is REALLY REALLY REALLY good!  REALLY good.
  • Chicken Salad (homemade mayo, DUHH)  It’s really good, but I figure people know what’s in chicken salad, right??
  • Round 2 of Meaty Muffins (which I have posted about – the EASIEST way to get protein in the morning!)
  • Roasted Sweet Potatoes (for a good base with poached eggs, etc)
  • Roasted Beets.

Which gets me to the TRUE SUBJECT of this post.  Have you guys eaten Beets?  I mean, in the past 3 months, I have tried Mayo, weird parts of chickens and cows, random veggies in my CSA box….and Beets.  They are SO GOOD.  While I was cooking on Sat afternoon, I sliced up a beet thinly, toasted with Coconut Oil and added some salt and pepper.  Then, oven at 375 degrees, popped them in.  After 30 minutes….something started smelling SO good.  Waited and then pulled out the most freaking delicious “candy” i’ve had!  It was so sweet and earthy….and I could NOT stop eating the beet.  And before you know it…The. Whole. Thing. Was.  GONE.  Whoops.  And I am HERE to be your PSA.  No, not for keeping your foot on the floor board instead of the dash board.  But to warn you that if you eat an entire beet….you will be tee-teeing the most gorgeous shade of purple for DAYS.  It was pretty, yall.  But it was startling.  I mean, why don’t people know that!

Leave a Reply

