{Recipes of Ruth} Chicken and Wild Rice Soup (JLB)

Just a total disclaimer.  I do NOT make up recipes.  I cook based on feeling, taste and love (of food, of course!).  I read enough cookbooks, websites, etc that I have garnered a little bit of how to cook what I want at that time.  Plus my mother is an awesome cook and took time when we were little to show me and my sisters how to cook.  Granted, I’ve called her yelling and crying more times than I can count because mine didn’t turn out like HERS.  BUT  here’s to learning through experience.  What I have learned is that most of cooking is by SMELL coming out of the oven, SIGHT on the stove and SOUND on either.  If all of those things come into play, then regardless if you are a meticulous recipe follower, you CAN create and cook something delicious!

I cook on Sundays for the week (lunches and meat for dinners) – Usually a casserole, soup, ground beef/turkey with roasted/cooked veggies.  But normally, its whatever is on sale at Publix that week.

BUT THIS WEEK – I had a hankering for THE SOUP.

Because of sharing this soup with friends, whether in Fitzpatrick or Homewood, in the woods or in the city, or 75 degrees vs 22 degrees, this soup cries out to me “HOME”.  Through my divorce, my friends made this for me many times, so truly even eating it makes me feel loved.

 

Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

From  Table of Contents – Highly recommend you just buy the cookbook!

1 cup (2 sticks) butter

1 cup chopped carrots

¾ cup chopped celery

¾ cup chopped onion

2 quarts (8 cups) chicken broth

2 chicken bouillon cubes

1 (6 oz) package long grain and wild rice mix with herbs

8 ounces fresh mushrooms, sliced

½ cup all-purpose flour

1 quart (4 cups) milk

3 cups chopped cooked chicken (1 rotisserie chicken is enough)

Melt ¼ cup of the butter in a Dutch oven and add the carrots, celery, and onion.

Saute, for 7 minutes or until the vegetables are tender.

Stir in the broth, bouillon cubes, wild rice mix and the contents of the seasoning packet.

Simmer for 30 to 40 minutes or until the rice is tender.

Melt a ¼ cup of the remaining butter in a skillet and add the mushrooms.

Saute mushrooms until tender.

Remove off of stove into bowl and cover.

Melt the remaining ½ cup butter in same pan as you cooked the mushrooms in and stir in the flour.

Cook flour/butter mixture for 1 to 2 minutes or until bubbly, whisking constantly.

Stir in the milk gradually. Cook until the sauce coats the back of a spoon, stirring constantly.

Add the sauce, sautéed mushrooms and chicken to the rice mixture and cook just until thickened, stirring occasionally.

Ladle into soup bowls.  Garnish with Parmesan cheese and Croutons.

 

So, here’s what I do for my own flare:

I’ve cooked this with the amount of butter suggested, with half of the butter, with olive oil instead of butter…with PAM instead of butter…  really, it doesn’t matter.  The soup is STILL good.  With Butter is always BETTER, yes? But it doesn’t ruin the flavors.  Make sure you DO use butter/water for the Roux.  You can make a dry Roux if you feel you need to watch the calories

Double the amount of Veggies.  I like a hardy soup!

Add Sherry to the broth.  Usually 1/4 -1/2 c.  It just adds depth that I love.

I’ve used Skim Milk, Whole Milk, and Almond Milk.  It still is good to me any ways you do it.

But how EVER you make it, remember that cooking is an expirience, and it doesn’t always have to be perfect!

Leave a Reply

