music for the soul

Today its been Al Green, Etta James, Misty Blue….

 

Aparently there is a reason that I like these things:

Says Pandora, “Classic Soul Qualities” “A subtle use of vocal harmonies” “A call and answer vocal harmony” “a busy horn section” “Heartbreaking Lyrics” “Aggressive Female or Male vocals”

It’s funny because each one of us thinks that we are the only one that has gone through what we have.  Its hard REALLY HARD to “identify” truly with someone else.  But what is the most awesome thing is that it DOES NOT MATTER if our friends know what it feels like, or if we feel alone.  The fact of the matter is that we are not alone.  God has taken each one of us, planned our future ages ago and He KNEW at this exact time what would happen, how I would feel, and what happens in the future.  Like I have said, I am a TOTAL Type A personality.  So not knowing God’s exact plan for me is desperately hard – like one of my biggest struggles.  I like to plan everything, from what I am going to drink all day (water) to what I have for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  Not to say that I cannot be flexible.  But I am not as flexible as I would like to be! Where I fault (ONE of the million times I fault) is that I chose not God’s plan, but what I think is best for me at the time.  I am about the most flawed woman you will meet.  And it truly doesn’t matter how many times I repent and begin again, I am constantly reminded how flawed and sinful I am.  Usually its two steps forward, 6 steps back!

The biggest revelation to me though was last year I discovered grace.  In all my 29 years, I had not been aware of what that was.  It was not a concept that I grew up with entirely.  I was always told right and wrong, left and right, no gray area.   So trying to balance out this GRACE concept has been a liiiiiiiiiittle crazy 😉  I could write for days and weeks and months and years on this concept.  And maybe my blog should have been names “Discovering Grace”.  For that is what my days are spent doing….marveling in the fact that God loves me and is not conditional and that he KNOWS I’m so far gone….

Mumford and Sons say it SO well.

Lyrics

Roll away your stone, I’ll roll away mine Together we can see what we will find Don’t leave me alone at this time For I’m afraid of what I will discover inside ‘Cause you told me that I wouldn’t find a home Within the fragile substance of my soul And I have filled this void with things unreal And all the while my character it steals Darkness is a harsh term, don’t you think? And yet it dominates the things I see

It seems that all my bridges have been burned But you say, “That’s exactly how this grace thing works” It’s not the long walk home that will change this heart But the welcome I receive with every start

Darkness is a harsh term, don’t you think? And yet it dominates the things I see Darkness is a harsh term, don’t you think? And yet it dominates the things I see Stars hide your fires, these here are my desires And I won’t give them up to you this time around And so I’ll be found with my stake stuck in this ground Marking the territory of this newly impassioned soul Hide your fires, these here are my desires And I won’t give them up to you this time around And so I’ll be found with my stake stuck in this ground Marking the territory of this newly impassioned soul And you, you’ve gone too far this time You have neither reason nor rhyme With which to take this soul That is so rightfully mine

Leave a Reply

