thank you kate nash (et al)

I’ve been listening to Kate Nash, Florence, Sia, Ingrid Michaelson,  Frou Frou, Regina Spektor, with some Grizzly Bear and NIN/Marilyn Mason (I know i know!).  Music really does touch the soul.  Today, I was late to work, didn’t feel well, missed my Body Pump class last night, thought about all the bills unpaid and just a general decent of my week.  Oh, and the not sleeping and the sleeping alone part.  I am NOT good at that.  Sunday I found 3 carrots in the garden that I did not plant and haven’t cultivated, but were left by the other owner of the house, and by most standards, isn’t a big deal.  But they represented something SO MUCH MORE to me.  Like what could have been and what if and why….

And the fact that its EIGHT WHOLE DAYS until I can make it to the beach?   UGG.  Its funny how the smallest random things can set you off.  That and the fact I had to miss my counselling appointment, because it was at 8:00a and since I went from Salaried to Hourly (another post, another day!) I didn’t think that was a good time to fit in the schedule.   Can you see all the BUTS, AND, MORE, AND AND AND.  YES I was not prepared for day.  And since May 14th (when my leg fell off) I have only cried ONCE (and in that time, a LOT happened….including my ex getting married….again! which I am still not really ready to talk about).

But let me tell you the good things (they are good, right?).

  • two feet
  • job
  • house
  • TROUBLE (my Great Dane)
  • white dresses
  • BodyPump at noon
  • Haley and Amy, Jinda, Susannah, and Tracy
  • all their chickens, and the fact that a 10 year old let me take him on a date
  • my sisters, who ENDLESSLY make me laugh
  • the fact that my sister wore a dress that was “almost” too short and had to go into a corporate meeting
  • the fact that my sister is so much like me and we never tried to be
  • and that she thought she looked ridiculous, when I know that she is the cutest
  • music – ALL music
  • tervis tumblers (i know its just a small thing, and you DO think that I am obsessed!)
  • my blackberry tablet
  • the tv show Misfits  – superheros, sweet love, sci-fi, death, violence, and absolutely utterly hysterical
  • it was 60 degrees in Alabama last night.  I turned off the AC (which sounds like a space-ship landing, ps, since i had to have it jeri-rigged last week when it broke)
  • the word “et al”
  • we have a GRACIOUS GOD who still loves me despite my bad mood
  • his grace extends BEYOND what i even understand

“Merry Happy”

Kate Nash

Watching me like you never watch no one
Don’t tell me that you didn’t try and check out my bum
Cause I know that you did
Cause your friend told me that you liked it

Gave me those pearls and I thought they were ugly
Though you try to tell me that you never loved me
I know that you did
‘Cause you said it and you wrote it down

Dancing at discos
Eating cheese on toast
Yeah you make me merry make me very very happy
But you obviously, you didn’t want to stick around

Dancing at discos
Eating cheese on toast
Yeah you make me merry make me very very happy
But you obviously, you didn’t want to stick around

So I learnt from you
Do do do da do do do do do da do do do do do da do
So I learnt form you
Do do do da do do do do do da do do do do do da do

I can be alone, yeah
I can watch a sunset on my own
I can be alone, yeah
I can watch a sunset on my own
I can be alone
I can watch a sunset on my own

I can be alone, yeah
I can watch a sunset on my own
I can be alone, yeah
I can watch a sunset on my own
I can be alone
I can watch a sunset on my own

Sitting in restaurants
Thought we were so grown up
But I know now that we were not the people
That we turned out to be

Chatting on the phone
Can’t take back those hours
But I won’t regret
‘Cause you can grow flowers
From where dirt used to be

Dancing at discos
Eating cheese on toast
Yeah you make me merry make me very very happy
But you obviously, you didn’t want to stick around

Dancing at discos
Eating cheese on toast
Yeah you make me merry make me very very happy
But you obviously, you didn’t want to stick around

So I learnt from you
Do do do da do do do do do da do do do do do da do
So I learnt from you
Do do do da do do do do do da do do do do do da do

I can be alone, yeah
I can watch a sunset on my own
I can be alone, yeah
I can watch a sunset on my own
I can be alone
I can watch a sunset on my own
(do do do da do do do do do da do do do do do da do)

I can be alone, yeah
I can watch a sunset on my own
I can be alone, yeah
I can watch a sunset on my own
I can be alone
I can watch a sunset on my own
(do do do da do do do do do da do do do do do da do)

“Hear Me Out”

Frou Frou

I join the queue on your answerphone
And all i am – is holding breath
Just pick up i know you’re there
Can’t you hear – i’m not myself

Oh go ahead and lie to me|You could say anything|Small talk will be – just fine|Your voice is everything|We owe it to love

And it all depends on you

So listen up – this sun hasn’t set
I refuse to believe that it’s only me feeling
Just hear me out – i’m not over you yet
It’s love on the line can you handle it

So how do i do normal
The smile i fake – the permanent wave of
Cue cards and fix it kits
Can’t you tell – i’m not myself

I’m a slow motion accident
Lost in coffee rings – and fingerprints
I don’t – wanna feel – anything
But i do
And it all comes back to you

So listen up – this sun hasn’t set
(I refuse to believe that it’s only me feeling)
Just hear me out – i’m not over you yet
(It’s love on the line can you handle it?)

So listen up
Look at me straight
Just hear me out
Don’t make me wait
I’m not myself
I can’t take this
Love’s on the line
Is that your final answer

I join the queue on your answerphone
And all i am – is holding breath
Just pick up i know you’re there……

So listen up – this sun hasn’t set
(I refuse to believe that it’s only me feeling)
Just hear me out – i’m not over you yet
(It’s love on the line can you handle it?)

<3<3<3<3

3 thoughts on “thank you kate nash (et al)

  1. Not only into a corporate meeting, but LATE into said meeting and into the wrong door at the front of the meeting. bare legged and high heeled…

Leave a Reply

